entryway refresh

My little entryway needed a makeover. I am pleased to say it’s finished-ish. There are a couple more things I would like to do, like paint the door and order this sign from Etsy.  But for now, I love the way it turned out! This project was low cost, and took only a small amount of hands on time.  Watch the video to see the process and/or check out the before and after pictures below!

 

 

 

 

We have a very narrow entryway without much natural light so my goal was for it to feel light and airy, while making the most of the space.  I also wanted to have a spot for guests to hang jackets and purses, as well as a place for my kids to throw their backpacks during the week (I like them tucked away in the closet on the weekends).

Here are some photos of the before…

 

Screen Shot 2017-02-08 at 8.29.52 PM.png

 

I loved having my scripture wall while it lasted, but the pages that started to pull off the wall were beginning to bother me.  I had chosen different verses that spoke to me and tore them out of old Bibles we were getting rid of when we moved in.  I totally recommend doing this on a wall in your home, it looked good for almost two years and came down seamlessly.  Oh, and it was free- added bonus.

 

Screen Shot 2017-02-08 at 8.28.25 PM.png

That photo is embarrassing.  Classic example of having an idea and not following through (you will see how I always intended to use this in the after photos). Can’t believe I left it like that for so long.  Yikes.

 

Screen Shot 2017-02-08 at 8.28.58 PM.png

Then finally, my mom picked up this cream bench for me because it was the perfect size.  We knew when we bought it we would have to paint it, but I was having a hard time finding a bench that narrow and really wanted a place for kids and guests to sit and take on and off their shoes.

Ok, now time for the fun part.  Here is how it looks now:

 

Screen Shot 2017-02-08 at 8.30.23 PM.png

 

DSC01266.jpg

 

 

DSC01230.jpg

 

 

DSC01302.jpg

I made the shelf myself with a piece of cut wood from Home Depot, some brackets I ordered online, and a little Annie Sloan Chalk Paint and wax.  Below the shelf is a curtain rod from IKEA with a few spray painted “s” hooks.

 

DSC01260.jpg

 

 

DSC01301.jpg

 

 

DSC01281.jpg

 

 

DSC01252.jpg

It might be hard to tell because the change is oh so very slight, but I painted the cream bench white.

 

DSC01233 (1).jpg

 

 

DSC01259.jpg

 

This was such a fun project and every time I walk past this part of my home I smile.  I am also obsessed with the way fresh greenery adds that final touch.  #crazyplantlady

All sources are linked on our YouTube Channel under the “entryway refresh” video.

 

create freely xoxox

Lauren

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Leave a Reply

