The WORK of God

Then they said to Him, “What shall we do that we may work the works of God?” Jesus answered, “This is the work of God, that you believe in Him whom he sent.”

John 6:28-29

 

God’s will for your life is that you believe in Jesus. Don’t complicate it. The disciples expected Jesus to set forth a list of things God expected from them (“works”), but Jesus only identified one expectation (“work”) – believing in Jesus. Are you shocked?

It is the trap of religion (which, God rejects (Isaiah 64:6)) to feel like we need to accomplish things for God; that God expects me to knock on doors, pass out tracts, or go on mission trips. Not so. But, hear the point.

In the wisdom of Jesus, he knows that if I believe in Him, I will love him. And, if I love Him, I will seek Him. If I seek Him, He will lead me. And if He leads me, I will be what He wants me to be. I will go on a mission trip, as He calls. I will share the gospel with my coworkers because of His leading. It is His work in and through me, not my working out of obligation. See the difference?

Do not forget that it is Jesus who will finish your faith. Hebrews 12:2. Let Him do the work. You just love Him, which is so easy because He is so good!

 

Dustin

Leave a Reply

