Say Yes

John 12

“If anyone serves Me, let him follow Me; and where I am, there My servant will be also. If anyone serves Me, him My Father will honor.” John 12:26

At the beginning of this chapter, we see Mary celebrating our Lord at His feet in a very special way. In those days, it was customary to wash your guests feet and dab them with oil on their head. In this instance, Mary was so humbled before Jesus that she poured her entire oil on His feet.

Although Judas’ response was filled with ulterior motives, he reveals to us just how much Mary loved Jesus. In the NKJV, we see that the oil was worth 300 denarii, which equates to a years worth of wages for a man. If I’m being honest, thinking about giving a years worth of wages to Jesus makes my heart beat a little faster. Of course, I would like to think that if I were in Mary’s spot, I wouldn’t hesitate to show Jesus my love for Him, but her actions beg the question: Is every aspect of my life surrendered to Jesus?

Later on in this chapter, Jesus speaks to the crowd one last time before His journey to the cross. He who loves his life will lose it, and he who hates his life in this world will keep it for eternal life.” (verse 25)  The Pharisees were the epitome of loving their lives that they could no longer accept what Jesus had to offer. In fact, John refers back to the prophesy in Isaiah stating, “He has blinded their eyes and hardened their hearts, Lest they should see with their eyes, Lest they should understand with their hearts and turn, So that I should heal them.” (verse 40)

Some of you might have trouble with that verse because it sounds like God was the one who hardened their hearts and blinded their eyes. Here is the thing about God: He will ultimately give you what you ask. So, whether you continually deny Him or continually serve Him, you lie in the bed you made. With that, we also need to understand that it is never too late to say yes because our God’s grace supersedes any habitual response. 

The Pharisees had seen miracle after miracle, and some dug their heels into the ground even more, while others believed but were too afraid to confess publicly (verse 42-43). Again, I’d like to think that I would be more like Mary than I would a Pharisee or Judas, but I know there have been times where I’ve held too tightly to things of this world. Or where I have cared too much about what other people think instead of caring about God’s kingdom.

You and I might not be saying “no” to salvation, but we could be saying “no” to His calling on our lives. We could come up with every excuse in the book as to why we shouldn’t forgive that person, or not share the gospel in the middle of a grocery store, or not admit our wrongdoings toward someone, or say no to a risk taking job. Whatever our “no’s” may be, we our robbing ourselves of a life filled with blessings. God will find someone else to bless because you haven’t said yes. (I know, I know… it rhymed).

Friends, let’s be like Mary and submit ourselves to the Lord humbly at His feet. Let’s anoint Him with our oil of praise. Thankfully for us, God’s love is relentless and He will always give us opportunities to bless others and glorify His Kingdom. The question is: Will you say yes?

be free. xo

Leah

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Leave a Reply

